We use cookies to improve the performance of this site and offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies stored on your computer.
Click here for more information on our cookies policy and how to manage them..


Composition of the Scientific Board


The Scientific Board is composed of 14 respected individuals - researchers, international experts in their field and AXA representatives. It is under the direction of Professor Thomas Kirkwood.

For any request about selection and application, please contact the operational team.

President of the Scientific Board

Professor Thomas Kirkwood
Dean of Ageing and Director of the Changing Age Initiative at Newcastle University (UK).
His research is focused on the basic science of ageing and on understanding how genes as well as non-genetic factors, such as nutrition, influence longevity and health in old age.

Read biography


Professor Nihat Berker
President of Sabanci University, Istanbul (Turkey)
Emeritus Professor of Physics, MIT (USA).

Read biography

Professor Maria A. Blasco
Director and Head of the Telomeres and Telomerase Group, National Cancer Research Centre, CNIO (Spain)

Read biography

Professor Alessandra Casella
Professor of Economics, Columbia University (USA).
Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research in Cambridge, MA (USA).

Read biography

Sylvie Lemmet
Director of the United Nations Environment Programme’s Paris-based Division of Technology, Industry and Economics (France).

Read biography

Professor Lawrence Lessig
Director of the Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics at Harvard University (USA)
Roy L. Furman Professor of Law at Harvard Law School (USA)

Read biography

Doctor Valérie Masson-Delmotte
Research Director in Paleoclimatology, Laboratoire des Sciences du Climat et de l’environnement, LSCE (France)

Read biography

Professor Dominique Pestre
Professor, History of Science and Science in Society, Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, EHESS (France)

Read biography

Professor David Spiegelhalter
Winton Professor for the Public Understanding of Risk in the Statistical Laboratory, University of Cambridge (UK)

Read biography


AXA representatives

Mr. Eric Chaney
Chief Economist AXA Group, Head of Research at AXA Investment Managers

Read biography

Mrs Anne-Juliette Hermant
Global Head of Learning and Development, AXA Group

Read biography

Mr. Alban de Mailly Nesle
Chief Risk Officer, AXA Group

Read biography

Mrs Lucie Taleyson
Technical and Marketing Director, AXA Group Life Solutions

Read biography

Véronique Weill
Chief Operating Officer and member of the Management Committee, AXA Group

Read biography

Former Scientific Board Members

The AXA Research Fund wishes to thank:

Ezra Suleiman, Former President of the Scientific Board(Princeton University)
Pierre-André Chiappori (Columbia University)
Pascale Cossart (INSERM, Pasteur Institute)
Brian Hoskins (Imperial College)
Alain d'Iribarne (CNRS)
Daniel Laurent (Université Marne-La-Vallée)
Hervé le Treut (Ecole Polytechnique)
Miroslav Radman (INSERM)
Hélène Rey (London Business School)
José A. Scheinkman (Princeton University)
James Vaupel( Max Planck Institute)

Nicolas Chanut (Exane)
Xavier de Bellefon (AXA)
François Bucchini (AXA)
François Robinet (AXA)
Alain Rohaut (AXA)
George Stansfield (AXA)
Jean-Christophe Ménioux

Granted projects

€ 131 million committed, 449 research projects supported in 32 countries, 50 different nationalities.

Find out more about granted projects


AXA is proud to have supported Jean Tirole, Chairman of TSE, who has just been awarded the Nobel Prize for Economics

French economist Jean Tirole, Chairman of TSE, has just won the 2014 Nobel Prize in Economics for his work on market regulation theory.

Science in Pictures: Science is Beautiful !

Watch Researchers supported by the AXA Research Fund showcase themselves... they look amazing! Through a video loop also available on youtube, discover 10 AXA Research Fellows' daily work as they strive to crack unsolved mysteries behind some of the risks that matter to us all!

How to obtain funding

Institutions and researchers: find out more about our grants.